American Football in New Zealand is played by clubs located around the country.  Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Hastings, Wellington, Nelson and Christchurch.  The season starts for most areas in November so the links below may not be live until competition starts,

2022 Flag Nats Logo 1.png

NZAFF Flag Football Club National Championships

NZAFF holds the Flag Football National Championship every year normally in March.  Over the past few years Covid has disrupted the event and has forced postponements.

The 2022 edition was affected earlier in the year but it is now confirmed for the 1st and 2nd October in Auckland at a venue yet to be decided.

Only affiliated clubs can enter teams in the nationals however if you are interested in playing, either as an individual or as a team, then contact your local club to see how you can become a member.
Clubs are listed on the "Clubs" tab in this website here.


For the 2022 Nationals the divisions that clubs can enter teams in are:

  • Men’s Open

  • Women’s Open

  • Masters Men - 35 and over

  • Men 18 and under

The October 2022 entry form is here

The notice regarding the Championships is here.

Adding Officials after entering teams form is here.

Quad Logo 2022.png

Central Flag Football Quad Series

The Central Flag Football Quad series is a Flag Football tournament series held in different venues from Nelson to Hawkes Bay every second weekend starting on the 23rd July.


The tournaments are invitational which means teams and players do not need to be registered to be eligible to play.

Information on each tournament can be found on the "What's On" page on this web site here.

Entry information will be published in the news on this web site.

The 2022 tournament dates are:

  • 23 July Nelson

  • 6th August Hawkes Bay

  • 20th August Wellington

  • 3rd September Turangi

  • 17th September Finals Wellington.


Nelson Tournament Results

Hawkes Bay Tournament Results

Wellington Tournament Results

Turangi Tournament Results

Wellington Finals Tournament Results