top of page
  • gm66628

NZAFF Flag Football Club National Championships Final Results

The NZAFF Flag Football Championship 2022 was played on the 1st & 2nd October 2022 @ Rongomai Sports Park, Flatbush. The event was originally supposed to be held in March 2022 but due to Covid Restrictions we (The Board) opted to move it to October.

There were approximately 330 athletes who participated at Nationals, across 16 Open Men, 6 Womens, 4 Youth & 2 Legends teams. We had new clubs Tauranga Tridents, Takanini Giants & American Football Otago make their first NZAFF Appearances. We also had a ground-breaking 21 dedicated Officials.

In the week leading up to the event the weather forecasts showed some harsh conditions on the horizon however during the Team’s Meeting prior to the event the decision was to go ahead.

The Rain on Saturday came down hard & heavy. So the call was made to stop the games from 4pm due to inadequate shelter & fields becoming bogged up. The Sunday Schedule changed to a series of knockout rounds. Sunday the skies cleared and though there were bursts of rain, the conditions had improved so much that the fields had recovered well & we were able to complete the tournament in good spirits & mostly dry outfits.

The gold and silver results in each grade were decided through the knockout competition. With the shortened number of games, it was a challenge to determine placings for the remaining teams. The results below were decided by countbacks, tie breaks and overall points differential.

The final results are:

Open Men

  1. Wolves Gold Gold

  2. AFC Flag Silver

  3. Tauranga City Tridents Bronze

  4. Lightning Futures

  5. HB Heat

  6. The Pride

  7. Metro Lions

  8. Nelson Honeybadgers

  9. Lightning Prem

  10. South Auckland Raiders

  11. Papatoetoe Wildcats

  12. Takaanini Giants

  13. AFC Otago

  14. HV Spartans

  15. Wolves Blue

  16. Hamilton Hawks

Open Women

  1. Lioness Black Gold

  2. Papatoetoe Wildcats Silver

  3. South Auckland Raiders Bronze

  4. Lady Lightning

  5. Taimana (Hamilton Hawks)

  6. Lioness Silver

Youth (18 & Under) Men

  1. Tauranga Ciy Tridents Gold

  2. Lightning Silver

  3. Heat Bronze

  4. Takaanini Giants


There were two teams competing in this inaugural grade and the winner after a series of matches was the Tauranga City Tridents.

The 2023 edition of the NZAFF Flag Football Club National Championships are scheduled for the 24th (we will need and extra day), 25th and 26th of March 2023.

109 views0 comments


bottom of page